…More Than Sweet Potatoes

[Food] Diary of an [Insulin Resistant] Kid.

Years ago.  Maybe 4 of them?  Maybe more?  I found out that I am insulin resistant.  Or, by today’s insurance documentation standards: pre-diabetic.  Here’s how it works: when my body ingests food to be broken down into energy (carbohydrates) my cells send a signal to my pancreas to release insulin.  Insulin is SUPPOSED to mix with the energy cells and go into the blood cells and then get used.  My body stops at that “supposed to” part.  Insulin mixes with my energy cells, but my blood cells are all “YOU SHALL NOT PASS!” and then insulin and energy just float around in my blood stream and don’t get used.  So my blood cells are still looking for energy and so my pancreas makes more insulin and the cycle continues.  The fear is that one day my pancreas will just be all “Fuck it!  I quit!” and I’ll become straight up diabetic.  So to avoid that, I:
(1) Take medication daily to help my blood cells stop being such segregating pieces of shit
and
(2) I eat like I am already diabetic (i.e. I eat a diet high in protein and vegetables, low in sugar and null in starch.)

You-shall-not-pass

So I figured, for the hell of it, or maybe for the fun of it, I’d document what I eat sometimes.  In case you’re trying to stop the ‘beetus from happening to you, or already are diabetic, or just overweight and want to eat better… or whatever.

*Special note: my diet is not designed to be low in fat or sodium, so if you have heart or blood issues, consider that before doing anything I would do.  Thanks!*

Please enjoy:


Monday 3/13/2017

Breakfast Bowl (time from getting ingredients out to eating – about 8 minutes):
MorningStar Farms Spicy Black Bean Burger Patty
Poached Egg
Half an Avocado
Tony Chacherie’s Cajun Seasoning

I nuke the patty (30 seconds per side) then mash half an avocado over top of it, sprinkle cajun seasoning over it and put a poached egg on top.  To perfectly poach an egg the easiest possible way, I suggest these little egg poaching cups.

Lunch Chicken Chili (time from having ingredients out to eating – an hourish):
This was premade, but here is what’s in it and how to make it:
1 package of lean ground white meat chicken
1 green pepper
1/2 white onion
Some Garlic (I always use a lot…up to you)
3-4 handfuls of baby spinach
1 can of roasted green chilis
1 can of Canneloni Beans
1 can of white chili beans
3-4 cups of low sodium chicken broth

Chop and sautee veggies (not spinach) in some olive oil, remove from pan.  Cook chicken, add veggies back in.  Add cans of things, spinach, chicken broth, salt, pepper, oregano, cumin, red pepper flakes, cilantro, and garlic salt to taste.  Let simmer until thick.  I make a bunch and then put it into mason jars and bring them for lunch.

IMG_0894

Dinner Thai Chicken Bowl (time from having all items out to eating – 30min):
1 bag of cauliflower crumbles
1/2 an onion
Lots of garlic
Couple of handfuls of frozen peas
1 cup of chopped carrots
2 eggs
soy sauce
chicken breast strips
teriyaki sauce
peanut butter
sweet thai chili sauce
sriracha
cilantro
salt and pepper

Marinade chicken in teriyaki sauce.  Sautee veggies (NOT including cauliflower) in olive oil until soft.  Add in cauliflower and stir and let cook for about 10 minutes.  Make a well in the center and crack both eggs into it.  Scramble eggs by stirring periodically and then mix into the rest of the cauli/veggie mix.  Add soy sauce, salt and pepper to your tasting.  Remove from pan.  Sautee chicken in the same pan until cooked.  Remove.  Assemble bowl: cauliflower rice, 1/2 tsp of peanut butter, a drizzle of teriyaki sauce, drizzle of chili sauce, add chicken, top with sriracha and cilantro.

IMG_0893

 


I’ll try to continue doing this each time I make a delicious and surprisingly carb free flavorful ad fuck meal.  If you hate this, let me know and I’ll stop.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 14, 2017 by in 2017, cooking, diabetes, food, insulin, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , .

Navigation

