…More Than Sweet Potatoes

Keeping Myself Busy After The Owl

Oh dear.  It has been two whole weeks since I’ve written anything for you with which you can distract yourself from work/life/etc.  As I wrote that sentence though, I realized I’ve gone much longer spans of time and either you guys didn’t notice, or you didn’t care.  Either one is fine, but it reminds me of the days when I used to blog regularly on Monday’s and Thursday’s.  I will eventually come up with a schedule again,  but in the meantime, you’ll have to settle for a surprise post once in a while.

Anyway, after The Owl broke up with me, I did what any girl does: I chose not to wallow for more than two days and then go out on dates.

Is what what any normal girl does?  I guess I’m not a good judge of these things.

The day of the break up was within 24 hours of my first time donating blood.  It was also the day that I went for a 5 mile group run in Chicago with a high school friend and her running club.  It was also the day I went to watch the Purdue @ Northwestern football game with Laura, who I hadn’t seen since college.  Then the break up happened.

After that, I went home and cried in the shower (is there a better/more all-encompassing way to cry until you dry heave?)  I texted about 6 people to let them know, 4 of which called me, two texted me regularly over the next few hours.  One – Jason – invited me to dinner with him, his wife, and their friends.  I hesitated, but he’s basically my brother and I love the guy.  AND his wife.  So I got cleaned up, dressed up, and went out with them.  I went out after dinner and drank a decent amount.  Then I got an uber back to my friends place where she fed me more alcohol, put on The Emperors New Groove, and I cried us both to sleep.

The next day, after I completed a 40 flight charity stair climb (hungover and with a pint less blood than usual,)  I re-downloaded Tinder.  I set it up with one picture and no blurb.  I decided to sit in bed and swipe.  Now you may have read before about how I like to “play” Tinder, but I decided to be picky.  No longer would I be swiping right to everyone.  I was reading blurbs.  I was looking at pictures.  I was being as choosy as a person can be when basing decisions on 1-5 pictures and about 30 seconds of consideration.  I wound up with about 7 matches.  All of them messaged me.

I decided to be straight up with all of them.  “Just FYI, I am super recently out of a relationship.  I’m not looking to date anyone, but I’m 100% NOT looking to hook up.  Honestly, I’m just trying to keep myself busy for a few weeks.”  Most of them responded positively to this.

Two of them asked me out.  So I went.  Guy #1 was a friend of a friend and that is literally the only reason I said yes.  Well that, and wanting to be less bored.  Guy #2 looked like a guy I used to know and seemed oddly familiar, so even though we had no friends in common, I decided to go on the date.  Two dates in two days…  I was ready.  Nervous, but ready.

Guy #1 suggested that we go bowling.  And he suggested this super cool place where they have drink service at the lanes and it’s swanky and fun.  I had never been there and had a lot of trouble getting there.  I had to call him twice to get directions and have him help me figure it out.  Finally, when I did and I parked, I realized I only have a minimal idea of what he looked like and that made me almost get back in the car and go home.  I wasn’t ready for this.

He was super sweet.  He offered to meet me at the elevator lobby.  So I sucked it up, but on my big girl pants, and got in the elevator and pushed the lobby button.

And next time, I will write about what happened next…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 19, 2016 by in Uncategorized.
