…More Than Sweet Potatoes

Kickball, Case Management, and Crying…Oh My!

It has been quite a while since I’ve posted anything, I know and I’m sorry.  However, instead of updating you on more Chicago things (like the dates I went on) and the road trip my dad and Gizmo and I took to get out to Arizona, I thought I’d give you a more recent life update… in case you were interested.

And why wouldn’t you be interested, right?

On December 20th, 2015, I parked my car in my driveway and started out (yet again) to make a new life for myself.  Jobless, local friendless, and penniless, I unpacked my 5 boxes of shipped items and suitcases and settled in.  Within 48 hours I was a crying mess.  You know that thing where you spend so much of your time being strong and taking care of yourself that when you finally don’t feel like you have to, you lose it?  That.  That is what happened.  I finally had family to lean on.  The move and life change was finally “complete.”  Next step was to set about finding friends and a job.

A couple weeks later I met up with the one friend I had before I came out here and he brought me around to his friends and got me to sign up with his kickball team and a travel girls team… so I could make new friends.  So I started driving the 2 hours to the valley to hang out with my new friends and play kickball on my new teams each weekend.  It seems like a long drive and a lot of commitment, but eventually I suppose I’ll be living down there anyway, so I may as well start building a little community for myself.

friends

Seems easy enough…

So that is working for you?

Well, in contrast to the solid almost year it took for me to make any real friends in Florida that weren’t my roommate (Hi, Katy!  Love you!) I’d say yes.  I’ve been here JUST over 2 months and I have a little group of friends who I talk to all the time and see every week.  I’m dating this pretty awesome guy.  I am having a lot of fun playing kickball.  So yeah…I’d say I’m making a social life in Arizona just fine.

So that’s working…what about actual working?

I have a job.  One of the friends I was connected up with happens to live up near me, and is a therapist at a local alternative school.  They were hiring and now I am a case manager at the same place.  I’m basically combining office experience with customer service and psychology in my new job and I totally dig it.  It has its really difficult moments, but at the end of the day, I’m helping make a difference in peoples’ lives, and that makes it all good.

Back-to-Work

So that’s what has been going on in my world.  What’s happening in yours?  Comment!  Let me know.  I’ve been away from word press for so long that I haven’t read anything recently and I don’t know anything.

End.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 29, 2016 by in 2015, 2016, Arizona, Crying, Friends, Kickball, Moving, Uncategorized, Work and tagged , , , , , , , .
