…More Than Sweet Potatoes

But How Did We Get Here? (Part 4)

(Part 1) (Part 2) (Part 3)
July 16th, 2014 – I found a stray cat and helped her find a forever home.  Tito Merlot Licksalot was sitting between my neighbors two outside chairs when we found her and realized she was absolutely an inside cat.  After about two months of loving her and caring for her (and finding out that she has a chicken allergy) I finally gave her to my friend, Travis, for her forever home.  She’s come back for a few weeks when he has gone out of town, but they seem to be very happy with their new cat – human arrangement.  On July I also went on a little weekend getaway to Katy’s home to see her and get out of town for a little bit.  I road a mechanical bull and watched Katy and her husband get matching tattoos.

10404246_10103909017509508_1471814211209300723_n

August 10th, 2014 – Gizmo officially became a therapy obedience professional and began work.  His job?  Spending an hour or so a week with the elderly getting pets and cuddles while he brings joy and happiness to the lives of others, himself, and to me as a happy accident.

10580217_10103957893626378_3525469795220054868_n

September 26th, 2014 – I made my first trip back to Purdue in 6 years.  After graduating eight years prior, I had only visited for one homecoming weekend – which was in 2008.  Along with my boyfriend at the time, Dianne and her now-husband Jeb, and Adria and her now-husband Paul, we participated in a weekend of partying, sleeping too little, drinking too much and failing hardcore at tailgating.  Six years later I decided to go back and was joined by my birthday twin, Eric.  We drank way too much, slept far too little, played Tinder, and watched my Boilermakers lose.  Luckily I will be doing most of this all again in a short month – this time with my friend Jason.

img_0307

October 19th, 2014 – I went to visit Chicago – again – this time for a wedding – again.  Jim Mowery got married and I made a weekend out of it.  I saw friends, family, and watched one of my best friends in the world get married.

November, 2014 – I began juicing, and went to Chicago – again.  This time it was for a week and a few days.  My niece, Cheyenne, had her Bat Mitzvah the weekend before Thanksgiving and then the rest of the week was spent with friends (many of which I hadn’t seen in a while) and family.

10749911_10104395512090468_6836597774943519496_o

December, 2014 – Cousin Max comes to visit for the second time (and, as it turns out, the last time) while I live in Florida.  We go out with friends, hang out with each other and the pets, exchange gifts, and hang out.  We went to a bowling night with the kickball team.  We went to a friends house for Christmas Eve dinner.  We went to two movies and chinese buffet for Christmas Day.  By the way, he got me the BEST gift ever – a Freddie Mercury T-Shirt.

January 2nd, 2015 – Broke up with The Bachelor.

February, 2015 – Played some kickball and went to Captiva to see Mark and his family.

March 22, 2015 – Met The Owl at a bar.  Good things came out of it.

March 30th, 2015 – I went to Arizona for Passover.  Realized I wasn’t supposed to leave.  Realized my parents were (and always would be) my home.  Considered the possibility that moving to them would happen in the next few years.

10933776_10104868032620538_6070375305893477001_n

June 4th, 2015 – I made my very first trip to Las Vegas to celebrate my 30th birthday with Karen, McNugget, and some other friends who have been talked about in previous posts about my trip to Vegas.  At the end of June, my now 18 year old nephew, Miles, came to visit.  I took him to lots of fun places included, but not limited to, Disney World, Universal Studios, and Dave and Busters.

July, 2015 – It became pretty clear that my “talents” were much more needed in Arizona than they are in Florida, so it was time to plan a change.  A plan was hatched.  I would leave Florida when my lease ended at the end of August.  I would then start a driving trip from Florida to Chicago where I would spend a few months in order to finalize some things before driving the rest of the trip from Chicago to Arizona with my dad.

August, 2015 – I sold ALL of my things.  Karen came to visit to make sure I was ready to leave and had some help getting out of the apartment I had happily lived in all by myself for three years.  On the 31st, I packed my car up and emptied the garbage out from the place and said a tearful goodbye to the place and my neighbors.

September 8th, 2015 – I drove away from The Owl’s house and started out on my pilgrimage from Florida… which you’ll hear all about in the next few weeks in my Great American Road Trip blog series.

And that is how we got here…

Leave a Reply

