…More Than Sweet Potatoes

But How Did We Get Here? (Part 3)

(Part 1) (Part 2)

March 28th, 2013 – I made my second ever trip to NYC to visiting the grad school best friend – Jonathan.  I met his new girlfriend – Sam – and fell in love with them both.  I ate incredible food at Traif and some Asian bun and dumpling place in Williamsburg (on Easter, no less.)  Saw Iconapop perform and generally really enjoyed Brooklyn.

April 28th, 2013 – Drove up to Orlando area to pick up my brother from a rest stop and took him to Disneyworld.  It was his first time there in about 40 years.  I made him be a little kid and had the best time ever.  I think I made him buy ears.  I certainly made him WEAR ears.

May, 2013 – I got fired from my job at Printing Company A.  Long story short, there was a essentially $30 issue I had caused, that I fixed and offered to pay for.  A person in the company decided that was the straw that broke the camels back and wanted me gone.  So I was gone.  Luckily for me, I had already started lining up a job at Dunder Mifflin.  Also, went to an endocrinologist and though a series (and by series, I mean about 8 different occasions) of blood tests to ultimately find out I am insulin resistant and now dependent on medication to avoid becoming diabetic.  Well, medication, being active and a strict food lifestyle.

June 24th, 2013 – I began working at Dunder Mifflin.

July, 2013 – I spent a lot of time with my neighbors.  Of the group of us, only Carolee and I stayed friends (and will continue to stay friends and stay in touch now that I have moved.)  We spent night after night drinking outside in the hallways.  We bought a grill and started having BBQs and drinking way too much together.

August 25th, 2013 – Co-threw a baby shower for my former roommate Katy before the birth of her baby girl, Piper.  I spent a lovely weekend with her and her family and missed the hell out of her the second I drove back south.

1267272_10102805614977028_1449608154_o

September 30th, 2013 – I starting using the Couch to 5k app in order to learn how to run.  I started out running 60 second intervals and feeling like I was going to pass out.  I kept going, determined to become a “runner” and run my very first 5k in December.

November 24th, 2013 – I went camping for the first time.  The Mayor and I drove up to somewhere in the middle of the state.  We canoed with some gators, made some campfire food, went hiking in the woods, and learned all about nature from a very knowledgeable source.

December 14th, 2013 – Ran my first 5k.  Team RamRod participated in the color run.  Technically speaking, I didn’t actually run a 5k.  The first wave of people were directed along what turned out to be the wrong route so I actually only ran 2.74mi, but I ran 2.74 miles and I didn’t walk for any of it.  That is a pretty huge thing for someone who hadn’t run more than a minute at a time before September 30th.

1513300_10153579990625322_1764224966_n

January 2014 – Spent New Years Even with friends at an apartment.  Drank prosecco straight from the bottle.  Spent the rest of January hanging out with friends, celebrating birthdays, practicing for a kickball tournament and meeting Brian Cardinal – Boilermaker and member of the Championship winning Dallas Mavericks.  I wore his championship ring.

10462458_10103791079143938_3486658289754245879_n

February 28th, 2014 – Celebrated leap year with Mark and his family in Captiva, FL.  It was actually my 4th time doing so…in five years.  Every year that they come down, they invite me to come over for a couple days and relax/pretend to be part of their family.  It is so awesome to be invited in like that.  Especially when I didn’t have any family of my own to make me feel safe and happy every once in a while.

March 2014 – Katy and Keith get married after having Piper out of wedlock.  HAHAHA.  I’ve always wanted to say that.  Whatever, it was 2014…not 1914.  Who cares!  They got married because they love each other.  Also, they actually had already gotten married in a courthouse ceremony a year prior.  ANYWAY, we celebrated.  I was the maid of honor.  I cried.

883299_10151958001371954_1233699686_o

May 2014 – I decided to make a list of 29 things I needed to do before I turned 29.  These weren’t all things I had never done, just things I wanted to do (sometimes again) before turning 29.  It was just a milestone list.  A way to better punctuate my year.  I cut my hair, met Maurna, parasailed, and learned a new song on the piano.

June 2014 – I turned 29.  My sister came to visit (!!!!!  I went to Chicago to see one of my very best friends get married.  Not a whole lot else happened, but I had a really good time with those three things, so that’s enough for me.

I suppose that is enough for now.  We’ll continue either later this week or early next week.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 14, 2015 by in 2013, 2014, Moving and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , .
