…More Than Sweet Potatoes

Napoleon: When You’re Right, You’re Right.

When we last discussed Napoleon, I had come to a realization that he didn’t seem ready for dating me/hanging out with me.  I was super predictable and called him out on it, in what I consider to be a nice and honest way, and sent him home to think about it and let me know.  This was on a Monday.


The next day I received a text saying I was right.

We texted back and forth a lot that day.  About what part of it I was right about –  That he isn’t ready to get into a relationship – and what I was wrong about – that he really wants to continue to hang out with me.

56516431

To sum it up, he felt most comfortable around me and spending time with me, but he wasn’t ready to be in a serious relationship.  And while I realize I pulled out the “you’re not ready for me” card, I really wasn’t asking him to be in an exclusive relationship with me, but I was feeling rejected and not wanted… which sucks… and I felt strongly as though we were not on the same page.  I wasn’t planning on waiting around for him, but I had invested so much already (more than usual, at least) and I wasn’t ready to be completely done.

At the end of our texting, we decided to have dinner on Thursday (2 days later) to really hash it all out in person.  Nothing hurtful or mean, just to figure out where we both stood without the cushion of a cell phone to “soften the blow” or to distort the tone of the words.

That was Tuesday mid-day.

Wednesday morning I sent my obligatory “good morning” text, and for the first time in more than two months, I didn’t receive a response.

Wednesday evening I sent a “hope you had a good day.  See you tomorrow” text and, again didn’t receive a response.

Thursday – annoyed as holy fuck – I sent a “hey!  Let me know what time you’re available to come over tonight.  It’ll be good to see you.” text.  Again, no response.

At Noon on Thursday, I decided that Debbie waits for no man…  I gave him a mental deadline of 2 pm to reply to me, or I was making other plans.  Any other plans.  Plans that would distract me from the fact that I was being blown off…hardcore.

ladydianascakes-napoleon

Officially, this is the only good kind of Napoleon.

 

At 1 pm. I decided to trash my whole deadline and texted a guy – who we’ll call Luke – who I had “dated” 3 years prior who happened to be back in town.  Luke and I had thrown around the idea of getting together and catching up for a few weeks, so I decided to make it happen.  I texted him to see if he was available that night.  He was.  I’m going to leave Luke at that because he’s one of the few people who I have never blogged about, and I promised him I never would.  Just in case he still reads this thing…  You know who you are, hi.  I hope you’re doing well.  And see?  I kept my promise.

And when 2 pm rolled around and I still hadn’t heard from Napoleon, I was extra happy to have plans with a long lost friend who I was really looking forward to seeing.

I did receive a text from Napoleon at about 4pm with a response asking how I was and when I was free.  My reply was “I’m great.  I made other plans for tonight.  Bye!”


And that is the end of my dating courtship with Napoleon, but it is far from the end of his story.  If you’ll recall, I later found out he wasn’t so bored and sad without me while I was out of town… and you have yet to find out why…  Muhahahaha.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 4, 2015 by in 2014, Blog, blogger, Blogging, date, date night, dating, Napoleon, story and tagged , , , , , .
