…More Than Sweet Potatoes

About a Shoe: Phasing in the Phases

Thursday evening they came.

My new, sparkly, shiny, happy Skora Phases were at my house when I got home.  In true child-who-can’t-wait-for-Christmas-morning-to-open-gifts form, I ripped open the box and immediately put them on – tag and all – to see how awesome they actually are.

run1

Friday morning, I started adding them into my morning runs: I ran 1.8 Miles in my Mizunos, ran upstairs and changed into my new shoes and headed back out for an additional .6 miles.  In about 4 strides I could feel the difference.  I was engaging parts of my body I don’t believe I’d engaged anytime lately – except for maybe in cleats – like my arches, my lower calves, my hip flexors… I could actually feel them working.  I had to adjust my stride a few times in order to not be hitting my heel strongly with each step, but once I got that taken care of, I was just going along happily.  Constantly looking down at my feet which looked small – and they NEVER look small – and super cool in my new shoes.

Sunday morning I went for a 4.2 mile run.  about .7 of it was in the new shoes.  After 3.5 at a decently fast pace, 85 degrees, 99% humidity, and the sun blazing down on me, I was exhausted and wanted nothing more than to stay on the couch after I changed into my Phases, but I used all my will power to get out and finish up the training.  The 7 minutes I was in my Phases felt like I was running on air.  My stride seemed to be lighter, but I was still having trouble figuring out my stride to avoid a hard heel strike.  When I got home I found out that my sweat plus my new shoes had dyed the heel of my socks hot pink.

IMG_2633

Hot pink sock heels!

Monday I got ambitious.  I felt like my .6 and .7 mile runs in the new shoes weren’t doing much.  Either my calves and feet and body are very well equipped to run barefoot and are great at adapting to changes, or I was half-assing it.  Monday I ran 1.15 in the old shoes and 1.55 in the new ones.  While I felt like I was running much slower, it seems my speed was about the same.  I felt less winded during the use of the Skoras and while my stride was shorter and it felt like it took longer, I averaged the same speed across both shoes.

By the time I finished my run, showered and got to work, I felt sore.  Not a little sore.  REALLY sore.  My first time being sore from running since… I started running?  Maybe except for the day after a 2-day kickball tournament, but that probably has more to do with the the fact that the running done there is all sprints.

Wednesday morning was planned to be another “half and half” run using the Mizunos and the Skoras, but Florida weather interfered.  Don’t get me wrong, I’ll happily run in the rain.  I’ll run in a flipping downpour.  I am far less psyched about running in a storm full of thunder and lightning.  Guess it must be summer in Florida already… though last summer I only missed 3 or 4 schedule runs due to the rain…

I guess I’ll be running Thursday through Sunday without a day off, which could be worse.

doesn't+get+easier

 

Stay tuned for more running updates in a week or two.  I may very well fall in love with these shoes… we’ll see!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 30, 2015 by in 2015, run, Running, Skora, trainer skillz, Trains, trying new things and tagged , , , , , , , .
