…More Than Sweet Potatoes

Napoleon: Holiday Cooking and The Offer

Last I left off in the Napoleon story, I shared our second sushi date, the time I made him a home cooked meal and then he stopped me from getting handsy with him in bed.  Not one to be discouraged, I decided to step up my game.


Have you heard of Steak and Blow Job Day?  If you have, congratulations.  If you’re male and have celebrated it before, even more congratulations.

For those of you who don’t know, it’s a holiday that takes place on 3/14 (yes, also Pi day) which is one month after Valentine’s Day.  It’s the male answer to flowers, chocolates, and hallmark cards.  Basically the idea is to celebrate your man-friend by buying or cooking him a steak and then giving him a blowie.

Well, second best is National Pancake Day.  Or National Grilled Cheese Day.  I guess it depends on which you prefer.  So the two next best holidays are National Pancake Day and National Grilled Cheese Day, in whichever order you prefer.

Chocolate-Chip-Pancakes

I’m both salivating and having an insulin attack from just looking at this picture.

 

National Pancake Day falls at the end of February.  So I invited Napoleon over for Pancakes on National Pancake Day.  He had a prior engagement, but bounced on the “going out with friends” part in favor of coming over for a pancake dinner.

I made starch free pancakes (because it’s the only kind of pancakes I can eat) with Peanut Butter, Eggs and Bananas.  Then I made a banana glaze sauce to drizzle over top of the pancakes and served them with bacon because I’m a grown up.

They were so good and he had no idea they were starch free and mostly healthy/protein filled until I told him.  We were both so happy and full that we fell asleep watching TV over the next hour.

The next morning, I made us coffee, got ready for work but this time he didn’t stay in bed.  He got up, got ready, walked out with me and kissed me goodbye while wishing me a good day.

There was just one problem.  I wasn’t sure I was happy about it.  Something felt…off?  I don’t know.  I didn’t feel anything when he kissed me.  Not really the night before either.  It was like I was kissing a friend.  I just didn’t have any feels.  I had on other dates – other dates with him, no less.  Just not this time.  Maybe it had something to do with being over-full of pancakes and bacon or being exhausted?

Around noon that day, he asked me if I wanted to spend St. Patrick’s Day together.  He said he didn’t like to go out for the holiday, but did like to drink green beer and cook corned beef and cabbage.  He offered to come over, make me dinner and we’d watch a movie.  I think I chose Boondock Saints because it seemed most fitting.

Boondock_Saints_by_GraffitiWatcher

Does my knowledge of Steak and Blow Job Day and my love of Boondock Saints make me a glorified dude?

 

While we were cooking (he let me help) we got to talking about an upcoming trip I was going on.  I asked him if he was interested in going.  He was considering it, but he hadn’t planned on it just yet.  I told him I think it’d be fun if he’d like to go with me and stay with my friend and I at her house.

He agreed that he’d like to come with me and would welcome a weekend away with me.  It all sounded so wonderful, so I began the process of planning our trip.  I had planned for some sight-seeing, some delicious food tours with my friends and a bar crawl of awesome.

A week or so later, I had started planning our LONG car ride, planned to bring Gizmo with us, and got really psyched.  The plan was to take an additional day off of work (Friday) and head up Thursday night.  Friday would be spent sight-seeing the city, going to museums and zoos and whatever else we could find to do that would be both fun and date-y.

Though, things changed a little bit as the date of our trip approached…

Animal-Farm-Napoleon

Hahaha. Animal Farm. Haha.

 


Come back next week to see what changed, how it affected our dating-ship and how our trip went.

Leave a Reply

