…More Than Sweet Potatoes

Teaching an Old Dog New Tricks (And other going ons)

You know that adage that says you can’t teach an old dog new tricks?  Well, for one thing, I think that’s stupid.  You’re never too old to learn something new.  The phrase should be “you can’t teach stubborn assholes of any age anything they don’t already want to learn.”

Anyway.  I decided the other day that Gizmo (my 10 year old perfect angel of a dog) could use to learn some more “tricks.”  I figure that his brain needs some more stimulation and he enjoys succeeding in new projects.  I know this because he told me.  And I’m a crazy person who talks to her dog.  Also, he didn’t tell me anything.  He’s a dog.  I know this.

Sunday we started practicing “Roll Over.”  He’s never done it before.  I don’t think he’d ever seen another dog do it.  I just was convinced I could get him to do it.  Sunday we spent about 30 minutes of “Sit.”  “Down.”  and then “Roll over!” while I literally push him into a roll.  Monday we did a session of half pushing him over, half nudging just his right shoulder blade until he was on his back and finished the roll himself.  Tuesday was spent pointing at his right shoulder while saying the command and he did it.  Every.  Single.  Time.  I figure by the end of the week he’ll be rolling over anywhere, with just the command or the hand signal and no treats.  Then I’ll have to come up with something else to teach him.


Annoying health nerd alert:  I made a healthier version of broccoli cheddar soup.  The majority of the fat and cholesterol (and therefore calories) come from the cream added to the soup and the thickening agent used to make it thicker (usually corn starch, or flour.)  I made a version that cut out all the cream and all the thickeners.

Ingredients:
1 bag of steam in the bag broccoli (or fresh broccoli steamed)
5 cups of Chicken Broth (or whatever broth you prefer)
1 can of cannelloni beans
1-2 cups of shredded cheddar cheese (fat free, low fat, whatever you desire)
salt, pepper and garlic to taste

image1

I guess this doesn’t look very appetizing, but it’s delicious

 

Directions:
1. Steam Broccoli
2. Put Broccoli and 2/3 of the broth into a blender and blend to your desired consistency
3. Put can of beans (canning juices included) and 1/3 of the broth into the same blender and blend until smooth
4. Put both blended things into a pot and heat on medium high until boiling
5. Sprinkle cheese in while stirring
6. Season to taste
7. Simmer for 15 minutes
8. EAT almost entirely guilt free  🙂


 What has been happening in your world?  Any EASY good recipes for healthier and/or starch free foods?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 5, 2015 by in Dog, food, learning about me, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , .
