…More Than Sweet Potatoes

Fine. I’m sick. I concede.

Self-indulgent whining ahead.  Beware.

germs

I’m sick.

I think.

I swore I was dealing with allergies.

When I first moved to Florida, I started seeing an allergist after I was waking up in the middle of the night with sinuses so swollen I was suffocating myself.  After a number of tests, we decided that I am allergic to a lot of nature related things that are pretty specific to Florida.  Allergy medicines were of no use so he told me to stop taking them.  The best course was to have steroids shot into the sinus membranes from INSIDE MY NOSE.  So obviously I said a big “fuck no!” and decided that my body would learn to adjust.

More or less, it has.  It has been 5 years, so I suppose that’s pretty normal.

Last week, I was in Chicago.  The weather there was very shifty.  It fluctuated between 55 and 23 daily.  Which was kind of nice because I got to see snow and play in it, but I also didn’t freeze my face off.  However, when it was 55, I was super sinus-y and my throat hurt.  Pretty bad.  When it went down below freezing, I felt fine.

So I said to myself: self, you have post-nasal drip.  This is your allergies.  The changing temps are giving the allergens a chance to get at you.  You’ll be fine.

Snifflesbook

For just ONE DAY?! Lucky bitch.

 

Then I flew back to Florida and progressively felt worse and worse.  I used the neti-pot** and a hot steamy shower to help. Sunday night I slept 2 hours before I woke myself up feeling suffocated.  I took ibuprofen (anti inflammatory for the sinuses usually helps) and sudaphed and went back to sleep.  I woke up an hour later and added Benadryl to the mix.  I slept another 2 hours before I had to wake up for work.

Monday I bought afrin sinus spray and zyrtec.  Zyrtec did nothing.  The spray helped me breathe.  I took NyQuil before bed and slept HARD for 8 hours.  I felt 28% better on Tuesday.

Tuesday I sinus sprayed before getting to work and made it through almost the entire day before I felt shitty.  I started coughing a lot more though.  And blowing my nose a lot.  Tuesday after work I went back to my bed/couch for the entire night.  I took NyQuil twice (once right when I got home and then again before passing out) and got another 8 hours of sleep.  I now feel 67% better than I did on Sunday night.  I haven’t used the sinus spray since yesterday (yay!) but now I have this gross sounding cough.  Also, because of the coughing, I have a sore throat.

So, fine.  I’m sick.  And it’s probably not allergies.  But at least it’s on the way to being gone.  I’ve been tweeting my sickness and some allergy company keeps tweeting me to try their product.  I’m thinking about replying “if you send me some free, I’ll sample it and then talk about it on my twitter and blog posts.”  Is that how you become a product endorser, or whatever?

In case you were wondering, I have torn through an entire box of Tazo Zen green tea with honey, 4 containers of spicy noodle soup (with egg for protein) and made 3 BIG servings of green drink.  I’m on basically a liquid diet that is packed with protein and nutrients.

And I’m complainy as fuck.


 

**The first time I ever used the neti-pot I swore I was going to drown.  I was allergy as hell and my allergist suggested it.  I read the instructions about 30 times.  I knew the exact angle at which to tilt my head.  I knew what temperature to make the water.  I knew that the water shouldn’t be from the tap.  I prepped myself.  I took a few deep breaths and called my mom.

Me: Hi Mommy.  Are you free for a few minutes?

Mommy: Sure.  What’s up?

Me: I’m going to neti-pot for the first time and no one is home.

Mommy: okay….?  and??

Me: Can you stay on the phone so that if I drown you can hang up and call 911 for me?

She laughed at me.  But she stayed on the phone because she loves me. THAT is being a mom.  Supporting your kid through something they are scared of just by being there.  No matter how old, how ridiculous, how pathetic.

Do you have any sure-fire feel better remedies?  I have plans tomorrow I’d like to feel better for.  Have you ever used a neti-pot?  Did you also think you were going to drown?

3 comments on “Fine. I’m sick. I concede.

  1. Quirky Chrissy
    December 4, 2014

    I’m still afraid of the Neti-pot, but I use a nasal spray that’s like a pre-cursor to neti.

    Like

  2. valerierae84
    December 4, 2014

    I love my Neti-pot. I was not afraid I was going to drown, but rather get that “I just jumped into the pool and got water up my nose” feeling, which is pretty much the worst.

    Like

  3. Deborah Ilene
    December 9, 2014

    http://www.buzzfeed.com/dimitri/people-neti-pot-for-the-first-time

    Haha – not alone in feeling like I’d drown…

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 3, 2014 by in 2014, sick and tagged , , , , , .
