…More Than Sweet Potatoes

[Cat]fishing for Friends

These are my best friends I just met.

These are my best friends I just met.

As a child, making friends is really easy.  Often times kids just start playing with something together and decide they are friends.  In school it’s also quite simple.  From elementary school through whatever form of highest education you’ve attended, you just talk to whoever is around you in your classes and become friends with some.  As an adult, it’s a little bit more difficult.  You have to find a common interest or group and sort of infiltrate your way in.

Or you can do this…


 **Note: all names, locations and truths have been changed.  Probably.

Saturday, March 30th, 2013.

I am sitting on the couch at my friend’s house – who I am in town visiting – when I get a text.  Brooke thinks she is here, but is unsure.  I get up, put on my shoes, and run downstairs. I leave my friend and a small group of his friends in the house drinking beer.  I walk outside in the chilly night air and peer around for a car, a person walking, or really anything that might be Brooke.

My phone rings.  She is driving down the street I am standing on and maybe sees me.  I flag her down and get in her car.  Brooke looks exactly like I expected she would.  She didn’t misrepresent herself or anything.  The mood is eerie.  It is pretty clear both of us are walking the tightrope of “this is totally normal” and “what the hell is this.  I don’t know this girl.  She could kill me.”  There is nervous laughter while we look for a parking spot.

Once we find a spot, we walk back to my friends building and go upstairs to rejoin the fun. I proceed to introduce her.

Me: Hey.  Everyone, this is Brooke.  Brooke this is everyone (I actually introduced each person, but this is a blog, so…)

Everyone: Hey Brooke!

Person 1: How do you guys know each other?

Brooke and Me in unison: Mutual friends.

Lies.

Brooke and I do not have mutual friends.  We had never even met until the moment I opened her car door.

Wait.  Whaaaaa?  Explain…

Let’s go back to February/March 2011.

My presence on social media had been pretty much on point for a while.  I mean, let’s be honest, it’s still top notch.  I had been posting on The Twitter pretty regularly and avoiding The Facebook for a bit.  I had been living in Florida for just over a year, I had been trying to find myself and my place in my new life.  I was doing a LOT of tweeting about it, if I recall correctly.

This is where things get a little fuzzy.  I can’t recall how we came across each other on The Twitter.  It could have been our mutual distaste for the douchenozzle of a self-proclaimed “Love Guru,” Steven Ward.  It very well could have been our mutual affinity for Andy Cohen.  It could have been our tendency to tweet about NCIS and how attractive both Michael Weatherly and Mark Harmon are.  It could have been any number of things.  I’m certain it began with one of those and the rest all followed pretty quickly.

We began a Twitter friendship which fairly quickly turned into an email and g-chat friendship.  She and I bounced stories back and forth off each other all day.  We vented.  We emoted.  We cheered each other up.  We told each other about dates and other guys in our lives.  We talked about jobs and life goals and plans.  We talked about family.

In a short amount of time we had become pretty damn close.  Of course we went through lulls where we didn’t talk to each other very often, but we were always aware of each other.230245-catfish-the-tv-show-catfish-the-tv-show-cover-art

For 2 years.

And then I booked a plane ticket to visit the aforementioned friend – who happens to live in the same city as Brooke – and we talked about meeting.  For real.  You know, in a group setting.  Just in case we were catfishing each other or something.  Which brings us back to the living room of my friends house.


Brooke and Me in unison: Mutual friends.

But how do you explain a serious friendship that was fostered on The Twitter to a bunch of people who all know each other through more “apropos” circumstances?

You don’t.  You lie.

What is the weirdest way you’ve made a friend?  Have you ever lied about how you know/met someone?

7 comments on “[Cat]fishing for Friends

  1. NotAPunkRocker
    November 6, 2014

    I don’t know, it’s acceptable now (for most people) to date and fall in love with someone where the only connection at first is online. So why not friendships? One of my best friends is a person I met through an online group. Six months into chatting with everyone and we figured out we worked across the street from each other.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. militarywiferants
    November 6, 2014

    I”m planning on visiting Maurna in the next couple months, once I can save up enough for a hotel, so that will probably be the weirdest way I’ve met someone. Via blogging.

    Otherwise, I always met friends online. Well, dating. I met my husband on plenty of fish, then he was my stalker, then we got married. Pretty weird if I do say so myself.

    Like

  3. maurnas
    November 18, 2014

    Aww, Leah. I promise to not murder you! And Debbie and I met via blogging. And I haven’t murdered her. Yet anyway.

    Like

    • Deborah Ilene
      June 12, 2015

      Still waiting for this, by the way. What a way to go!

      See you in a couple weeks!

      Like

  4. onechicklette
    June 12, 2015

    Ha! This is awesome. I have met lots of Twitter friends. I don’t *think* I’ve ever fudged the ‘how we met’ story–maybe I’m too proud of meeting my friends via Twitter? Don’t know, don’t care.

    How fun that we both have met Brooke now!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 6, 2014 by in 2011, 2013, 2014, Friends, lying, meeting and tagged , , , , , , .
