…More Than Sweet Potatoes

Filling the Bucket

A post I wrote JUST SHY of a year ago today told of my first attempt at a bucket list.  It wasn’t so much things I wanted to do before I die, but rather a short list of things I want to do before I officially become a grown up (which means turn 30.)

You can read that post here.

I’ve updated the first one.  Originally my goal was to run a 5k, but that ended up being easier than I had expected and I’ve since run at least 10, 3 of which were organized by some outside group.  The rest were just for (I can’t believe I’m going to say this) fun.  So now the new list item is to run a 5k in fewer than 30 minutes.  This seems pretty likely given my “intensive” training.

jogger-v-runner

The second one is a work in progress.  It’s looking possible, but not entirely guaranteed.  I’m still going to strive for it.  The closer I get to it, the more I’ll buckle down and spend my days inside my house as to not spend any money at all on food, entertainment or gas.

The third was to go to Purdue for homecoming 2014.  Which, according to their football schedule, is this upcoming weekend.  And in approximately 19 hours from when this will be posted…

Wheels up!

PurdueBelltower

I’ve been prepping for this weekend for about a year, in theory, and a couple weeks in practice.  I’ve been building up my alcohol tolerance as well as my tolerance for other human beings – which is the true feat, if you ask me.

Last weekend’s “bender” included bars until 2:30am, tailgate parties, football games, champagne…oh…my…lord…so much champagne and plenty of hangovers.  I’m ready.  I’ve been training for this.

All I know for sure is that I land tomorrow late morning and the adventure begins.  For all location information (if you’re looking to meet up,) or updates, follow me on the twitter @deborahilene and/or on the Facebook (though if we’re not facebook friends, you actually can’t follow me on there…so maybe stick to the twitters.)  I will be utilizing the hashtag: #bdaytwinhomecomingtakeover2014 in honor of the entire adventure being along side my birthday twin, Eric.

I put links for you. I made this easy.  Don’t look a gift horse in the mouth.

What does this even mean?!  WHO LOOKS INSIDE OF A HORSES MOUTH?!

What does this even mean?! WHO LOOKS INSIDE OF A HORSES MOUTH?!

Things you’ll want to look for (and I’ll blog about next week, maybe):

Harry’s Chocolate Shop

Breakfast Club (probably at Jake’s)

Stick Figures and Aliens

Football Game

Possible Wedding Crashing

Fountain Run

Mortarboards

Confused?  If so, you didn’t go to Purdue.  Which means you’ll enjoy the blog posts about it as much – if not more – than those of my readers who did!

Mama, I'm coming home...

Mama, I’m coming home…

Happy weekend, blog and real-life friends (and both.)

2 comments on “Filling the Bucket

  1. maurnas
    October 6, 2014

    I want to know how to build up my tolerance for people. You should give a workshop!

    Like

Leave a Reply

