…More Than Sweet Potatoes

Seven Ways To Cardi: How To Entertain Yourself With One Clothing Item

This weekend I volunteered to staff a youth group convention.  This is the same youth group I was in while in high school and the same organization for which I have been an adviser for 4+ years.

I’ve been on an exorbitant number of conventions over the years.  This one was…well…different.  I hope to all that is holy that the kids got a lot out of it and came away enriched and happy.

Anyway, one of the best things about going to convention was the opportunity to room with my former roommate, Amanda, again.  We tend to be silly and funny and serious and happy and bored all at the same time as each other.  Most of the time.  This has nothing to do with this post except that I wanted to mention it… and she was my photographer for the pictures you will see in a bit.

Something you should know about convention is that the adults are surrounded by entirely too many teens, it’s loud, it’s exhausting, and you at some point will get slap-happy.  For me, that happened on Saturday during their first round of free time.  During this time, Amanda and I made sure teens did not use the fitness center without an adult present.  Our presence basically sent them all away as quickly as imaginable and left us to stand around being silly.

Which is where I came up with the concept of this blog post- Seven Ways to Cardi: How to Entertain Yourself With One Clothing Item.

I tend to be cold….always… so I brought my mustard yellow cardigan with me everywhere I went for the entire convention weekend.

mustard

This isn’t exact, but it’ll work….

So without further ado… here are the 7 ways to wear a cardigan: (and yes, these were all taken at the hotel gym.  Who doesn’t do a photo shoot in a hotel gym, really??)

I'm laughing so hard I am squinting.

(1) Regular Cardigan Wear

(2) The Adorable Elderly Woman/Obnoxious Prepster

(2) The Adorable Elderly Woman/Obnoxious Prepster

(3) The Grunge Rock/I Sat in Something Gross Looking

(3) The Grunge Rock/I Sat in Something Gross Looking

(4) The Dress That Teenagers Wear And This is an Appropriate Length When It's Actually Not

(4) The Dress That Teenagers Wear And Think Is An Appropriate Length When It’s Actually Not

(5) The Super Hero (a variation on number two with an added dash of FUN!)

(5) The Super Hero (a variation on number two with an added dash of FUN!)

(6) The Eryka Badu

(6) The Erika Badu

(7) The Invisible Man

(7) The Invisible Man

 

I hope this mildly amused you on your Monday because it made my Saturday super amusing.

I have no questions or thoughts…how about, in the comments, we all just make fun of me for doing this and then posting it?  Okay?  GO!

4 comments on “Seven Ways To Cardi: How To Entertain Yourself With One Clothing Item

  1. NotAPunkRocker
    September 15, 2014

    But the dress thing looks cute over jeans, right?

    (I’m rocking the purple cardi today…call it “mom at work” look)

    Like

    • Deborah Ilene
      October 10, 2014

      It CAN look cute. My “dress” did not. At all. Today I am wearing my “The Dude” cardigan while I channel The Big Lebowski

      Like

  2. maurnas
    September 23, 2014

    You are adorable. And that cardigan is such a great color!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 15, 2014 by in 2014, Insane, Overwhelmed, Sleepy! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .
