…More Than Sweet Potatoes

I’m Old For My Age

mp,550x550,matte,transparent,t.3u1

Apparently this is a line from “Skins” ??

Today’s post is a combination of Hot Yoga soreness, running soreness, PMS soreness and being a tad lazy.  What does that mean for you?  It means this post may make minimal sense and that I had this topic saved up waiting for the day I needed a post that required little to no brain power.

All of your posts seem like they require little to no brain power.

Jerk.

Anyway.  A while back I came across this article on the Huffington Post.  It is called “30 Things That Will (Probably) Happen in Your 30s.”

If you’ll recall from posts about 3 months ago, I recently turned 29.  So I am trying to prepare myself for the next decade of my life.  I’m a control enthusiast with a side of planner.  Moving on…

Of the list of items in the article, there are only six items that, at the age of 29, haven’t already happened to me within my 20s.  Being 29 doesn’t make me feel old.  Having a nephew looking at colleges doesn’t make me feel old… actually it does, but let’s skim over that because… yikes… what makes me feel old is having all of the things that are supposed to happen in my 30s happen well before I enter the 3rd decade of my life.  Like, WELL before.

I guess I shouldn’t be surprised.  I’ve been told I have an old soul more times than I can remember.

One of the most memorable examples in my mind is when I got stitches in my face removed from the time I was bitten by a dog.  I wish I could remember the circumstances around the conversation, but the mid-50s nurse looked at my mom and said “you have a very old soul in this one.  It’s like she was born backwards.  She’s so calm and understanding for a child.”  I liken this to a puppy who is super calm and cuddly.  Curls up at the food of the bed and sleeps with its owner.  Then, around 6 years old, becomes insatiably playful and hyper.  I’ll let you know when I’m 70 if I was, in fact, born backward.  I assume this means like Benjamin Button and not like a breech baby.

600full-the-curious-case-of-benjamin-button-photo

Have I told you guys before that I’m LOVE the elderly?

Don’t get me wrong.  I can go out and party my face off and freaking rage all night.  But I can only do it a few times a year.  I love swingsets and spinning in place getting really dizzy.  But I only find time to do that once in a while.  Oh, and I adore cartoon movies.  All of them.  So maybe I’m an old soul who is a kid at heart?

I suppose that wouldn’t be the worst way to describe me.

I think I need a list of 40 things that will definitely happen in your 40s.  If I can’t mark off over half of them, I’ll feel a little less like a middle aged woman stuck in a 29 year old’s body.

Guardian-Envoy-480-Deluxe-Rolling-Walker-191941-PRODUCT-MEDIUM_IMAGE

To be fair, this thing is pretty bad-ass…

What makes you feel old?  Do you feel older than you are?  Do you feel younger than you are?  What makes our “age” our actual age?

One comment on “I’m Old For My Age

  1. NotAPunkRocker
    September 8, 2014

    I was a young parent, so having my child be nearly the age I was when I had him makes me feel old. Physically, I would feel younger if I just got in shape. Otherwise, I am still trying to decide what I want to be when I grow up…which I think makes me young?

    Now I’ve confused myself… 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 8, 2014 by in learning about me, nurses, old people, perspective and tagged , , , , .
