…More Than Sweet Potatoes

Official Taste Tester Extraordinaire

So by now you know that one of my many side jobs is taste testing food for pay.

Or not at all, but that’d be a sweet job to have…a girl can fantasize…

I am, however, participating in 3 taste testing activities: Burger Tasting, Mexican [food] Tasting, and Sushi Tasting.  All three of these were decided upon separately with separate people.  None of them are sponsored by any restaurant or company.  Though that’d be fucking sweet.  How does one make that happen?  Anyway, here’s the rub:

Burger Tasting: Favor and I have gone out to dinner twice recently and for whatever reason, both times we were (or at least I was) craving burgers.  Week one we went to Tap42 for their Prohibition Burger night.  The second week we went to Gilbert’s where they claim to have the best burger in south Florida.  While we were comparing Gilbert’s to Tap42 we decided to keep the trend going.  We shall now attend the following places, taste, rate and enjoy burgers: BurgerFi, Smash Burger, One Burger and Charm City Burger.

prohibition burger

Mexican [food] Tasting: Diddy and I spend a lot of our day chit chatting away with each other.  Often these conversations include an in depth discussion about food that we have for the day, plans for the evening or foods we are craving.  It’s not unusual that the food being craved is Mexican food.  So in the same vein as my Burger Tasting, Diddy and I will be going to as many “hole in the wall” Mexican restaurants we can find and choosing our favorite.  We’ve been to (separately, but it still counts) La Bamba and Baja Cafe.  We will be sampling El Jefe Lunchador, Taco Prince and a few others that I can’t recall…

la bamba

Sushi Tasting: Among the many things that I like to do, very high on the list is drinking hot sake and trying out new sushi rolls.  I’m adventurous when it comes to sushi and I especially like a mix of things inside my rolls.  Also, I especially like hot sake.  Lucky for me, it seems that Ryan shares my affinity for these things.  Twice now he’s taken me to sushi restaurants to which I had not before visited.  Thai-Sushi and Masamune.  While at the latter (this sounds familiar…) we decided it’d be fun to go to a bunch of sushi places and then pick our favorite.  So far, Thai-Sushi’s eponymous roll was DELICIOUS and the Horizon roll at Masamune was nearly perfect.  The hot sake at Masamune beats Thai-Sushi’s… though the owner of Thai-Sushi did bring me a 1/2 bottle for free.  Step it up, other restaurants…we’re coming and we’re thirsty…

IMG_2541

4 comments on “Official Taste Tester Extraordinaire

  1. Erin
    March 17, 2014

    Excellent use of “eponymous “

    Like

    • Deborah Ilene
      March 17, 2014

      You were the reason for it’s usage. I knew you’d smile about it.

      Like

  2. maurnas
    March 31, 2014

    I want to be a food taster so bad. I have a very sensitive palate. Hey, when you go to BurgerFi order a chocolate milkshake. They are miraculous! Seriously, it’s like drinking frozen pudding.

    Like

    • Deborah Ilene
      March 31, 2014

      You’re going to think I’m crazy, but I’m not big on chocolate…unless I’m bleeding from the uterus… But the next time I am… you know I will!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 13, 2014 by in Uncategorized.
